Childcare Steering Group

The University's Childcare Steering Group meets termly, it aims to support the development work of childcare provision on behalf of the collegiate university.  Information regarding the group's membership, terms of reference, agendas and minutes are detailed below.

Membership 2016-17


Chair / member of the Personnel Committee Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Personnel
and Equality)
Member / Representative of the Education
Pro-Vice- Chancelllor (Education)
or his/her nominee
Ms Joanna Barlow
EDU Representatives Ex officio Sara Smith
Head of Childcare Services (Secretary) Ex officio Jo Mason
A member of Personnel Services Senior Personnel Officer Katharine Herdt
Student Representative VP Women, OUSU Katy Haigh
Academic Representative Academic

Professor Pedro Ferreira 

Academic Representative Academic

Dr Sian Gronlie
(History, Arts and Humanities)

Academic Representative Academic

Professor Jenny Taylor
(Nuffield Department of Medicine, MSD)

Nominee of Conference of Colleges Academic 

Dr Chris Ballinger
(Academic Dean, Exeter)

Parent & Nursery Association Chair  PNA Representative
(University Nurseries)
Dr Lennart Verhagen
A member of the support staff nominated by
the Personnel Committee
Support Staff Anne Pearsall 
In attendance Director of HR Julian Duxfield

Terms of reference

  • To support the strategic development of childcare provision in the University within the framework of the Childcare 5-year development plan.
  • To receive and approve the annual childcare report, for onward transmission to the Personnel Committee.
  • To receive year end and new year financial budgets (these are subject to the UAS planning and budgeting process, based on 5-year development plans, and must be approved by BSC and PRAC).
  • To consider and recommend any changes in university childcare policy.