University of Oxford Homepage

Print Version

Election Long Vacation: 28 July 2016

Prevent Steering Group


Back to Top

Prevent Steering Group

Five persons elected by Congregation

Current/Retiring Member

To hold office until

[new position]

HT 2017 (31 December 2016])

The Prevent Steering Group was established to consider in detail how the University should respond, and give effect to, the statutory Prevent duty. Further information about the work of the group can be found at:

For further information, please contact the Secretary.

Forward to General Notes

Back to Top


In accordance with part 3 of the resolution approved by Congregation on 31 May 2016, ‘That the University’s Prevent Steering Group be afforced with a minimum of five elected members of Congregation by 0th week MT 2016’, Council has ordered an election for 28 July 2016.

This election will be conducted under the regulations set out in Part 8 of Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002.

Nominations in writing for the elections on 28 July, by four members of Congregation other than the candidate, will be received by the Elections Office, at the University Offices, Wellington Square, up to 4 p.m. on Thursday 30 June.

At least one nomination in respect of each candidate must be made on an official nomination form (available on

All candidates are asked to note the general requirements which apply to all committee members, as set out in Council Regulations 14 of 2002 (General Regulations of Council for Committees) (

Candidates are invited to include with their nomination forms, a written statement of no more than 250 words, setting out his or her reasons for standing and qualifications for the office being sought. In the event of a contested election, these statements will be available on-line and published in the Gazette dated 7 July.

Voters may wish to wait until they have read these notes before returning their ballot papers.

Ballot papers will be sent out to members of Congregation as soon as possible after the closing date for nominations. Completed ballot papers must be received by the Elections Office not later than 4 p.m. on 28 July.

For further information, please contact the Elections Officer.

Back to Top