University of Oxford Homepage

Print Version

Faculty Boards

Current Vacancies for By-election 8 March, 2007

Board of the Faculty of Theology

No. and type of vacancy

Post Number

Name of Current/Retiring Member


One ordinary member elected by all members of the faculty, exclusive of the persons qualified to be official members as per Regulations 19.8 and 19.9.(2)


DR B. E. Schmidt


The following nomination has been received:

Professor G.D. Flood (BA, MA, PhD Lancaster), Faculty of Theology

Nominated by:

M. J. Edwards, Christ Church

E. D. H. Carmichael, St John's

P. S. Endean, Campion Hall

A. J. Moore, St Peter's

As the number of nominations received is no more than sufficient to fill the above vacancy, the candidate so nominated shall be deemed to be duly elected as of 8 March 2007 (as per Council Regulations 19.32 of 2002 made by Council on 26 June 2002, amended on 5 May 2005 and 16 March 2006.)


Where it is specified in the above list that the nominee must be from among certain persons 'working in' a Department or other institution, both the nominee and the nominators must be persons so working at the time of the election.

Nominations in writing for the elections on 8 March, by four members (other than the candidate) of the electorate for each vacancy (as specified above), will be received by the Elections Office, University Offices, Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JD up to 4 p.m. on Thursday 8 February.

Council has decided that nominations should show for each signatory the name and faculty, sub-faculty, or department (indicative of the relevant electorate) in block capitals. Any names which are not so shown may not be published. At least one nomination in respect of each nominee, signed by the nominee and four nominators, must be on an official nomination form. Copies of the form are available from the Elections Office, Room 218, University Offices, Wellington Sq, Oxford OX1 2JD (e-mail:

In the event of a contested election, a brief biographical notice of each candidate will be published in the Gazette dated 22 February, and voters may wish to wait until they have read these before returning their ballot papers, which will be sent out to members of the electorate as soon as possible after the closing date for nominations, and which, after completion, must be received by the Elections Office not later than 4 p.m. on Thursday, 8 March.

Back to Top