Customer Service Excellence

Customer Service Excellence (CSE) is an externally assessed, government-led, national accreditation scheme. Estates Services is currently working towards achieving accreditation during 2016, to help us:

  • drive forward our commitment to providing the best possible and consistent service to our customers across the University
  • set clear standards so that they know what to expect from Estates Services
  • identify improvements and measure how well we deliver them

The CSE standard comprises five sections, each one consisting of elements against which we must provide evidence of our compliance.

Customer Insight

This criterion focuses on the importance of developing an in-depth understanding of our customers. This includes consulting customers and using the information we receive to design and provide services. It also covers the importance of monitoring the outcomes of our services and whether customers are satisfied with them.

This criterion is made up of three sections:

  • Customer Identification
  • Engagement and Consultation
  • Customer Satisfaction

The Culture of the Organisation

This criterion is concerned with the support for customer-focused approaches throughout the organisation so that excellent service is delivered to all customers.

This criterion is made up of two sections:

  • Leadership, Policy and Culture
  • Staff Professionalism and Attitude

Information and Access

Customers value accurate and detailed information, and this criterion aims to make sure that we have this in mind in everything we do. As a result, we focus on consulting and involving customers as part of an effective communication plan rather than seeing communications as a one-off exercise.

This criterion is made up of four sections:

  • Range of Information
  • Quality of Information
  • Access
  • Co-operative working with other providers, partners and communities


This criterion relates to how we carry out our main business, the outcomes for the customer, and how we manage any problems that arise. It focuses on whether we keep to the promises we have made to individual customers and relies on customers’ views rather than the indicators our organisation uses to measure performance.

This criterion is made up of three sections:

  • Delivery Standards
  • Achieved Delivery and Outcomes
  • Deal effectively with problems

Timeliness and Quality of Service

This criterion looks in more detail at standards relating to how we carry out our main business. It draws heavily on what users have identified as the most important factors of excellent customer service. Separating customer service standards from the main business standards makes the requirements for setting and monitoring standards in these areas much more strict. This plays a major part in developing the customer-focused culture included in Criterion 2.

This criterion is made up of three sections:

  • Standards for Timeliness and Quality
  • Timely Outcomes
  • Achieved Timely Delivery

Staff training and engagement

We have begun a programme of ongoing staff training, designed to improve both service delivery and the culture of customer focus across the department.  All new job descriptions now incorporate customer service within role responsibilities and tasks.

For further information about our journey towards Customer Service Excellence accreditation, contact Rob Markham, Customer Service Excellence Administrator.