Functional Estate

The University’s functional estate covers all the buildings – and spaces between buildings – that are used for its day-to-day activities including: specialist research buildings, teaching laboratories and lecture halls, sports facilities, libraries and museums, administrative and ceremonial buildings.

The division of responsibility for all University buildings within the functional estate are set out in the Estates Standing Orders, issued by BESC (Buildings & Estates Services Subcommittee) under the authority of Council.