Joint Fees and Student Support Advisory Group (JFSSAG)

Terms of reference

The group will advise PRAC and Education Committee and the Conference of Colleges on the following matters:

a. The principles that should govern the setting of university and college fees and provision of student support;

b. Policy over the provision of student support, including fee waivers, bursaries and scholarships;

c. The structure and level of fees charged for programmes of study, to include: i. Undergraduate, Postgraduate Taught, and Postgraduate Research fees, and the relationship between them; ii. Home/EU and Overseas fees, and the relationship between them; iii. University and College fees, and the relationship between them; iv. Policy over fee liability, including the length of time for which fees are levied;

d. The structure and level of other university and college fees and charges to students or other candidates for examinations (but not charges for accommodation or food), including: i. fees for visiting and registered students and for matriculated non-award students; ii. continuation charges for PGR programmes; iii. fees levied on candidates for examinations;

e. Policy over fees payable by non-matriculated students studying for certificates and diplomas, and for non-award bearing courses;

f. The annual programme for the setting and publication of fee schedules.


    Dr David Prout (Chair) Pro Vice Chancellor (Planning and Resources)
    Sir Ivor Crewe (Vice Chair) University College
    Professor Sarah Whatmore Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)
    Professor Mark Smith Oriental Institute
    Dr Owen Darbishire Said Business School
    Professor David Vaux Associate Head of Medical Sciences Division (Education)
    Dr Adrian Stokes Department of Continuing Education
    Mr William Jensen Exeter College
    Dr Andrew Bell University College
    Professor Keith Gull St Edmund Hall
    Professor Sam Howison Associate Head of MPLS Division
    Ms Moira Wallace Oriel College

    Meetings will also be attended by two Oxford SU observers: VP (Welfare & Equal Opportunities) and VP (Access & Academic Affairs)

    Attending Officers

    • Ms Judith Finch
    • Mr Den Moore
    • Ms Emma Potts
    • Dr Samina Khan
    • Mrs Jenny Roberts
    • Dr Nadia Pollini
    • Mr Charles Alexander
    • Dr Mike Glover
    • Mr Kris Tiffen
    • Ms Jenny Nix (Secretary)

    Meeting Dates

    5 October 2017 9:00 - 11:00
    19 October 2017 10:30 - 12:30
    21 November 2017 14:00 - 16:00
    25 January 2018 14:00 - 16:00
    22 February 2018 10:30 - 12:30
    3 May 2018 14:00 - 16:00
    5 June 2018 14:00 - 16:00