Joint Resource Allocation Advisory Board

Terms of Reference

The Joint Resource Allocation Advisory Board is tasked to make recommendation, to Council through PRAC, and to the Conference of Colleges on:

(i)         The annual resource allocation exercise;

(ii)        The identification and proposed treatment of funding streams within the JRAM, including those from HEFCE;

(iii)       The alignment of the model with the University’s academic strategy;

(iv)       Whether a change in academic strategy and policy requires changes in the JRAM to support collegiate and University objectives and if so the mechanisms which would enable these to be achieved;

(v)        The method for incorporating major change in external funding within the core mechanism of JRAM transparently;

(vi)       Related issues about the management of resources and the funding of activities across the collegiate University, as they arise in the course of the Board’s work;

(vii)      Whether, in the view of the Board, Council and Conference of Colleges should commission a fundamental review of the operating principles and processes of JRAM.

The Board should be primarily an expert body, which will make recommendations for consideration by the wider membership of PRAC and the Conference of Colleges. 

Membership is for three years in the first instance, renewable for one further term. The Chair is nominated by Council and Conference in rotation, each time for a two-year period.



Sir Ivor Crewe (Master, University College)

Chair (nominated by Council)

Dr David Prout (PVC, Planning & Resources)

Ex officio

Professor Sarah Whatmore (PVC, Education) 

Nominated by Council

Dr Steve New (Said Business School)

Appointed by PRAC/Education Committee

Professor Sam Howison (Mathematical Institute)

Appointed by PRAC/Education Committee

Dame Helen Ghosh (Master of Balliol)

Representing the Chairman of Conference

Dr Louise Durning (Senior Tutor, Lincoln College)

Nominated by Conference

Mr Charles Alexander (Finance Bursar, Merton College)

Nominated by Conference

Mr Alex Spain (Bursar, Lincoln College)

Nominated by Conference

Officers in Attendance

  • Mr Stephen Purbrick -Head of Financial Planning and Analysis, Finance Division
  • Ms Judith Finch - Director, Conference of Colleges Secretariat
  • Dr Mike Glover - Director of Planning & Council Secretariat, PRAS
  • Dr Liz Bills - Senior Planning Officer, PRAS (Secretary to JRAAB) 

Meeting dates 2018/19

All meetings take place in the University Offices. Papers will be circulated approximately one week before each meeting (except for those in April each year which will be circulated less far in advance). Please send any apologies for future meetings to the Secretary (




Thursday 8th November

11 am – 1 pm

University Offices, Meeting Room 1

Thursday 24th January

11 am – 1 pm

University Offices, Meeting Room 1

Thursday 14th February

11 am – 1 pm

University Offices, Meeting Room 1

Tuesday 4th June

10 am – 12 noon

University Offices, Meeting Room 1