Fees Policy Group

Terms of Reference

The Fees Policy Group is a joint subgroup of PRAC and Education Committee. Its remit is to consider and report to PRAC and Education Committee on:

  1. the principles that should govern the setting of university tuition fees;
  2. the structure and level of tuition fees over which the University has discretion, to include:
    1. overseas fees levels for UG, PGT, PGR1;
    2. home/EU fees for PGT and PGR;
    3. the length of time for which fees are levied on PGR students, including the possibility of continuation fees/charges;
    4. ELQ students2;
    5. whether, and if so to what extent, there should be 'standard' fee levels (university-wide, or banded broadly by subject), and to what extent bespoke fee levels for individual courses;
    6. whether, and if so to what extent, there should be differentials between different categories of student (eg home/EU:overseas, UG:PGT:PGR);
  3. the structure and level of related fees, including:
    1. fees for visiting and registered students, certificates and diplomas, and non-award bearing courses;
    2. other fees levied on students, e.g. for matriculation, examination entry/re-entry, certificates, and in particular whether any of these should be rolled into tuition fees;
  4. the annual programme for the setting and publication of fee schedules.

1i.e. Undergraduate, Postgraduate Taught, Postgraduate Research
2 i.e. those studying for a qualification at a level equivalent to, or lower than, one they have already been awarded

Membership 2011-12

Nominated by
Professor William James (Chair) Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning & Resources) ex officio
Professor Sally Mapstone
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) ex officio
Dr Anne-Marie Drummond Divisional Secretary Humanities Division
Ms Rachel Meyrick
Divisional Secretary Social Sciences Division
Professor Nick Woodhouse Vice-Chairman of Divisional Board and Chairman of Mathematics MPLS Division
Mrs Philippa O'Connor MSD Divisional Officer Medical Sciences Division
Dr Peter Gambles Secretary to the Continuing Education Board Continuing Education
Professor Stuart Ferguson Senior Tutor, St Edmund Hall Conference of Colleges
Dr Nicola Trott
Senior Tutor/Academic Registrar, Balliol College ex officio
Mr Tim Knowles Bursar, Lincoln College
Co-opted member (to liaise on College fees)
Assessor   ex officio
Vice President (Academic Affairs)   OUSU
Vice President (Graduates)   OUSU

Officers Attending

  • Mr Michael Sibly, Deputy Registrar
  • Ms Helen Watson, Director of Planning & Resource Allocation
  • Dr Jane Sherwood, Director of Graduate Admissions & Funding
  • Mr Keith Zimmerman, Director of Student Administration & Services
  • Ms Susan Brace, Fees Clerk
  • Mr Ben Jones, Senior Data Officer, SDMA
  • Dr Nigel Berry, Senior Assistant Registrar (Academic), MPLS Division
  • Ms Nancy Braithwaite, Conference of Colleges Secretariat
  • Ms Lynne Hirsch, Assistant Registrar (Planning & Resources), Humanities Division
  • Ms Jenny Nix, PRAS
  • Ms Claire Duddy, PRAS


Ms Jenny Nix, jenny.nix@admin.ox.ac.uk

Meeting Dates 2011-12

11 October 2011 10am - 12noon
15 November 2011 10am - 12noon
31 January 2012 9 - 11am
5 March 2012 11am - 1pm
30 April 2012 11am - 1pm
14 June 2012 11am - 1pm