Student Number Planning Sub-Committee

Terms of Reference

The subcommittee shall report to the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee and the Education Committee to develop the collegiate University's student number planning policy on behalf of Council and shall:

  1. Maintain an overview of the current and future size and shape of Oxford's student body, consistent with the objectives and values of the strategic plan.
  2. Receive long- and short-term planned numbers for all students from divisions, the Department for Continuing Education, and the colleges, societies and Permanent Private Halls on a regular basis.
  3. Review planned student numbers to ensure that there is an appropriate match between colleges and divisions, and with the current policy of Council.
  4. Develop dialogue with particular divisions or colleges as appropriate to ensure the student number policy of Council is not contravened.
  5. Establish whether incentives could be introduced to encourage divisions and colleges to adhere to the student number policy of Council.
  6. Ensure the planned balance of student numbers within the overall student body is consistent with the levels permitted by HEFCE, and by Oxford City Council.
  7. Liaise as appropriate with other related committees and working groups on matters relating to student number planning.
  8. Inform Council on the need for future revisions to the student number policy, and, as appropriate, lead in such developments.
  9. Give special consideration to maintaining numbers in subjects where there is a national shortage of graduates.

The subcommittee shall report to Council annually.


Professor William James Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Planning & Resources), Chair
Professor Paul Madden The Queen's College, Vice-Chair
Dr Sally Mapstone Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)
Johannes Zachhuber Trinity College
Professor Roger Taylor MPLS
Professor David Paterson Medical Sciences
Professor Roger Goodman Social Sciences
Professor Jonathan Michie Department for Continuing Education
Mr Tim Gardam St Anne's College
Dr Mark Pobjoy Chair of Senior Tutors Committee
Mr James Lawrie Christ Church
Junior Proctor  

Attending Officers

  • OUSU Representative
  • Senior Proctor
  • Ms Caroline Pack
  • Ms Karen Brill
  • Ms Jane Dale
  • Dr Jane Gover
  • Mr Jared Hutchings
  • Dr Jane Sherwood
  • Dr Jocasta Gardner
  • Mr David Gibson
  • Dr Peter Gambles
  • Dr Nicola Trott
  • Ms Helen Watson
  • Mr Tom Wale
  • Dr Rachel Cox (Secretary)
17 October 2016 14:00 - 16:00
25 November 2016 10:00 - 12:00
13 February 2017 14:00 - 16:00
4 May 2017 10:00 - 12:00
8 June 2017 10:00 - 12:00

Template for Student Number Planning Sub-Committee Papers (37kb)