Research Ethics and Integrity Team

The Ethics and Integrity team supports the University’s human research ethics committees, and can provide advice to researchers with queries about research involving human participants and personal data, as well as queries about research integrity.
For queries about research which requires review by the National Health Service ethics review service, please contact the Clinical Trials and Research Governance team.

Who should I contact?

For applications and queries about research in the social sciences, humanities, physical and life sciences, contact the Social Sciences and Humanities Inter-Divisional Research Ethics Committee (SSH IDREC) via ethics@socsci.ox.ac.uk

For applications and queries about research in the medical sciences (where the research does not require review by the NHS ethics review service), contact the Medical Sciences Inter-Divisional Research Ethics Committee (MS IDREC) via ethics@medsci.ox.ac.uk.

For applications and queries about medical research outside the EU, or if the research is funded by the US National Institutes of Health or another US federal funding agency, contact the Oxford Tropical Research Ethics Committee (OxTREC) via oxtrec@admin.ox.ac.uk.

Management

Kathryn Dally
Head of Team and Senior Assistant Registrar
kathryn.dally@admin.ox.ac.uk
01865 (2)80319
(Monday–Thursday) 

Medical Sciences Interdivisional Research Ethics Committee (MS IDREC)

Dr Helen Barnby-Porritt
Research Ethics Manager (Medical Sciences)
helen.barnby-porritt@admin.ox.ac.uk
01865 (6)16577
(Monday–Thursday)

Leah Butts
Research Ethics Administrator (Medical Sciences)
leah.butts@admin.ox.ac.uk
01865 (6)16575
(Tuesday–Friday)

Social Sciences and Humanities Interdivisional Research Ethics Committee (SSH IDREC)

Claudia Kozeny-Pelling
Research Ethics Manager (Social Sciences and Humanities)
ethics@socsci.ox.ac.uk
01865 (6)16578
(Tuesday–Friday)

Justine Malone
Research Ethics Administrator (Social Sciences & Humanities)
justine.malone@admin.ox.ac.uk
01865 (6)16576
(Tuesday–Thursday)

Oxford Tropical Research Ethics Committee (OxTREC)

Dr Rebecca Bryant
Research Ethics Manager (OxTREC)
rebecca.bryant@admin.ox.ac.uk
01865 (2)82585
(Wednesdays, Thursdays and Friday mornings)

Ms Sami Kelsh
Research Ethics Administrator (OxTREC)
sami.kelsh@admin.ox.ac.uk
01865 (2)82106
(Monday–Thursday)