Science Area Team

Who should I contact about what?

The Science Area office based at the Robert Hooke Building in Parks Road provides first-line local support on grant applications and awards, contracts and intellectual property issues to all MPLS departments and the Medical Sciences Division's pre-clinical departments. The office also provides support to research activities at the Oxford University Begbroke Science Park. Please use our generic email addresses below for the most common issues:

Type of WorkEmail address
New application requests applications.science@admin.ox.ac.uk
New awards and amendments for non-commercial sponsors awards.science@admin.ox.ac.uk
New contract requests (incl. commercial sponsor awards) contracts.science@admin.ox.ac.uk

For personal consultancies, please contact Oxford University Consulting at Isis Innovation.

If you are unsure about who to contact then the Office Administrator will be pleased to assist to ensure that your query is directed to the appropriate person.

Christmas/New Year Closing Dates and Application/Final Reports Deadlines

Research Services will close for the Christmas/New Year break at 4 pm on Tuesday, 23 December 2014 and will re-open at 8.30 am on Monday, 5 January 2015.

In order to help us manage new work received or with deadlines falling during this period of closure and during the first week in January 2015 (which is a very busy period), please ensure that your PIs are made aware of the following:

  • Applications with a funder deadline falling between Tuesday, 23 December 2014 and Monday, 5 January 2015 inclusive should reach Research Services by Tuesday, 16 December 2014.
  • Applications with a funder deadline between Tuesday 6 January and Friday 9th January 2015 should reach Research Services by Thursday, 18 December 2014.
  • Please note that all Grant Deliverables for RCUK awards due over the Christmas period must be submitted on time as the due date will not be extended.
Our offices will also be closed for the Research Services Christmas lunch on 10 December 2014 from 12 noon.

Management

Ms Barbara Murray

Head of Research Services, Science Area
Email: barbara.murray@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16501

Dr Dan Blakey

Deputy Head of Research Services, Science Area
Email: daniel.blakey@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16514

Research Services Managers

Ms Lisa Driver Davidson

Senior Research Services Manager
Email: lisa.driverdavidson@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16515

Ms Kirsty Allen

Research Funding Manager
Email: kirsty.allen@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16503

Dr Ruth Fiddy

Research Services Manager (Tues - Thur)
Email: ruth.fiddy@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16521

Dr Sarah Wagstaffe

Research Development Manager
Email: sarah.wagstaffe@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16504

Dr Jenny Gladstone

Research Development Manager (Tues-Thurs)
Email: jennifer.gladstone@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16505

Contracts Specialists

Mr Liam Curren

Senior Research Contracts Specialist - Industry Collaborations
Email: liam.curren@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16516

Mrs Busola Akande

Research Contracts Specialist (Not Thursdays)
Email: busola.akande@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16520

Mrs Nicola Clarke

Research Contracts Specialist
Email: nicola.clarke@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16519

Ms Eleanor Forbes

Research Contracts Specialist
Email: eleanor.forbes@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16517

Funding Specialists

Dr Zoë Lee

Senior Research Funding Specialist (Tues - Thurs)
Email: zoe.lee@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16507

Dr Nathan Davies

Research Funding Specialist
Email: nathan.davies@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16506

Dr Nicole Dale

Research Funding Specialist
Email: nicole.dale@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16508

Dr Neil Wyborn

Research Funding Specialist
Email: neil.wyborn@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16509

Administration

Rosalind Welton

Contracts and Grants Administrator
Email: rosalind.welton@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16513

Mrs Athiswari Vadivale

Office Administrator
Email: athis.vadivale@admin.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 (6)16502