University of Oxford Homepage


Regulations for Committees Reporting Directly to Council or one of its Main Committees

Council Regulations 15 of 2002

Made by Council on 26 June 2002

Other Committees

Part 21: Committee on Honorary Degrees

Amended on 26 January 2006 and 10 October 2014 (Gazette, Vol. 145, p. 3, 25 September 2014)

Renumbered on 28 July 2011

21.1. The Committee on Honorary Degrees shall:

(a) after consultation with Council on proposed names, take decisions on names to be put to Congregation for the conferral of Honorary Degrees and, where appropriate, Degrees by Diploma; and

(b) make recommendations to Council on any proposal for the revocation of an honorary degree or degree by diploma referred to the committee by the Registrar.

21.2. The committee shall consist of:

(1) the Vice-Chancellor;

(2) the Assessor;

(3) the Public Orator;

(4)-(9) up to six members of Council appointed by Council, one of whom shall be the chair; and

(10)-(11) up to two members of Congregation not on Council appointed by Council.

21.3. The period of appointment for appointed members shall be one year renewable for a maximum of four years.