University of Oxford Homepage


Statute V: Colleges, Societies, and Permanent Private Halls

(Section 1 is a 'Queen-in-Council' statute – see section 2 (2) of Statute IV.)

Approved with effect from 1 October 2002
(Supplement (1) to
Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002)
Amended with effect from 17 July 2003, 12 October 2010 (Gazette, Vol. 141, p. 110, 14 October 2010), 17 January 2012 (Gazette, Vol. 142, p. 243, 19 January 2012) and 30 May 2012 (Gazette, Vol. 142, 14 June 2012, p. 588)


1. The following foundations in Oxford for academic study are recognised as colleges of the University:

All Souls College
Balliol College
Brasenose College
Christ Church
Corpus Christi College
Exeter College
Green Templeton College
Hertford College
Jesus College
Keble College
Lady Margaret Hall
Linacre College
Lincoln College
Magdalen College
Manchester Academy and Harris College
Mansfield College
Merton College
New College

Nuffield College
Oriel College
Pembroke College
Queen's College
St Anne's College
St Antony's College
St Catherine's College
St Edmund Hall
St Hilda's College
St Hugh's College
St John's College
St Peter's College
Somerville College
Trinity College
University College
Wadham College
Wolfson College
Worcester College

2. The University may, by statute subject to the approval of Her Majesty in Council, add further foundations to those listed in section 1 of this statute.


3. The University may establish and maintain institutions to be known as societies.

4. The membership and governance of a society and the rights, privileges, and obligations of a society and its officers shall be provided for in regulations.

5. The following are societies of the University:

Kellogg College
St Cross College

6. The University may add further institutions to those listed in section 5 of this statute.

Permanent Private Halls

7. The University has granted each of the following institutions the status of Permanent Private Hall of the University:

Blackfriars Hall
Campion Hall
Regent's Park College
St Benet's Hall
St Stephen's House
Wycliffe Hall

8. The terms on which the status is granted, and the circumstances in which the status may be revoked or surrendered, are set out in an Agreement between the University and each institution. Revocation other than on the grounds of an institution's insolvency or dissolution shall require the consent of Council and Congregation.

9. The status may be granted to other institutions on similar terms, but only with the consent of Council and Congregation.